Food Security

Chair: Lesa King  (

Mission:  To address food insecurity in Stone and Taney counties by increasing availability and access of nutritious foods through a variety of methods.


The Food Security Action Team was the co-recipient of a Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services grant to develop a system of community gardens throughout Stone and Taney counties.  In 2015 the team implemented and maintained 12 community gardens, growing just under 2,000 pounds of food, 99% of which was given away to those in need.  The grant was awarded a second year and the team anticipates adding an additional 10 gardens.  The team was also recently awarded a two year USDA grant to offer professional development opportunities to local food producers.

Other efforts include a partnership with the Taney County Food Policy Board, which seeks to address food insecurity through advocacy for and strengthening the local food system.